22 New State & Local Leaders Join NCIOM Membership

News | September 7, 2023




September 7, 2023 (Chapel Hill, NC) – The North Carolina Institute of Medicine is pleased to announce the selection of 22 new members, confirmed by the NCIOM Board of Directors.


The NCIOM was chartered by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1983 to serve as a non-political source of information and analysis on major health issues facing the state. The NCIOM informs and shapes health policy by identifying evidence-based solutions to North Carolina’s health challenges and working collaboratively with stakeholders from across the state to identify and build consensus around actionable solutions.

Membership in the NCIOM is intended to honor the work of leaders in health care and public health across North Carolina and to connect members with colleagues also working to advance the health of North Carolinians. Our new 2023 members will be joining a prestigious group of over 150 North Carolinians who serve our state as health care providers, community health leaders, researchers, educators, policymakers, and business leaders.

As their first NCIOM member event, new 2023 members have been invited to join NCIOM staff for an update on recent work, with special focus on practical considerations for North Carolina’s community leaders as they assess the transformative potential of opioid settlement funds. New members will also have the opportunity to meet our staff and make connections with other NCIOM members.


The 2023 inductees to NCIOM membership are:


Stephanie Baker, PhD, MS, PT

Associate Professor and Department Chair of Public Health Studies

Elon University


Bahby Banks, PhD, MPH

CEO, Pillar Consulting

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Gillings School of Global Public Health

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


L.Lorraine Basnight, MD

Executive Director, Eastern AHEC

Associate Dean, CME, and Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University


Senator Jim Burgin (District 12)

North Carolina General Assembly


Representative Carla Cunningham, BSN, RN (District 106)

North Carolina General Assembly


Dawn Daly-Mack, RN

Long Term Services and Supports Manager

Carolina Complete Health


Palmer Edwards, MD

Medical Director, Child & Adolescent Mental Health Project & NC Statewide Telepsychiatry Program

East Carolina University


Honey Yang Estrada, MPH, CHW


North Carolina Community Health Worker Association


Brandy Harrell, DSW, LCAS, CCS, LCSWA, CTP, SAP, DAC

Behavioral Health Director

Kinston Community Health Center


Matt Johnson, MA, MBA

Chief Administrative Officer

Wake Internal Medicine Consultants, Inc.


Secretary Kody Kinsley, MPP

Secretary of Health and Human Services

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services


Senator Joyce Krawiec (District 31)

North Carolina General Assembly


Representative Donny Lambeth (District 75)

North Carolina General Assembly


Scott McCulloch, MD

Chief of Anesthesia, Providence Anesthesiology Associates, Triangle Division

Past President, North Carolina Society of Anesthesiologists


Damian McHugh, MD, FACEP

Managing Director, Physician Liaison



M.Kathryn Menard, MD, MPH

UpJohn Distinguished Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Maternal Fetal Medicine

UNC School of Medicine


Pamela A. Oliver, MD, MSPH

Executive Vice President, Novant Health

President, Novant Health Physician Network


Vincent Guilamo-Ramos, PhD, MPH, LCSW, RN, ANP-BC, PMHNP-BC, FAAN

Dean, Duke University School of Nursing

Vice Chancellor for Nursing Affairs, Duke Health


Rahul Sampath, MD, FACP

Internal Medicine Residency Program Director and Infectious Disease Consultant

President of Medical Staff

UNC Blue Ridge


Catherine Sevier, DrPH, RN

Managing Director, The Generations Study Group

NC AARP State President Emerita

CoChair, NC Campaign for the Future of Nursing


Shantelle Simpson, EdD, MSN, RN

Chief Executive Officer

Appalachian Mountain Community Health Center


Dennis Streets, MPH, MAT

Former Executive Director

Chatham County Council on Aging



A full list of all NCIOM members can be found here.


The North Carolina Institute of Medicine (NCIOM) is an independent nonprofit organization committed to better health for all North Carolinians. Chartered by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1983, the NCIOM provides nonpartisan information and opportunities for consensus-building on issues of relevance to the health of North Carolina’s population. Visit http://www.nciom.org for more information.