Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

NC legislative building

The Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program will provide participants with the data and resources needed to make effective decisions about the health of our state. Over three full-day sessions during the in fall of 2019, participating General Assembly members will learn about the health issues facing North Carolina, the state’s priorities for health care delivery, and challenges and opportunities for improving the health of all North Carolinians, with a focus on evidence-based solutions.

Participants will also have opportunities to network with health policy researchers, state agency staff, and legislative colleagues. The program will be held in alternating years.





About the Program

Given the large portion of the state budget dedicated to health care and health related services, decisions regarding health policy have tremendous impact on North Carolina’s economy and the health of individuals and communities. The program will provide General Assembly members with resources needed to make effective decisions about the health of our state.


This program is supported by the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Foundation, Cone Health Foundation, the Duke Endowment, and the Commonwealth Fund.

Session and Enrollment Information


Program sessions will include presentations and panels from health policy experts, policymakers, and nationally renowned guest speakers. NCIOM staff will work with participating legislators to prioritize special topics of interest and to ensure a balance of formal presentations and informal discussion and networking time.


Participants will also select at least two topics for future research and publication by the NCIOM as issue briefs. The first issue brief will be presented to participants and other legislators at a reception where Legislative Health Policy Fellows will be recognized and awarded with certificates of completion.


All sessions will be held at NCIOM, 630 Davis Drive, Suite 100,  Morrisville, NC 27560.


The program is best suited for early career legislators (those in their first three terms) but is open to all legislators who want to learn more about health policy and resources.


Please note: Enrollment is limited to 20 legislators.


To enroll, or for more information, please contact:


Michelle Ries, MPH

Project Director





Adam Zolotor, MD, DrPH

President and CEO




Program Brochure Available Here
2019 Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

2019 Legislative Health Policy Fellows:

Representative Kelly Alexander, D, District 107- Mecklenburg

Senator Deanna Ballard, R, District 45 - Alleghany, Ashe, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes

Representative Lisa Barnes, R, District 7 - Franklin, Nash

Representative Mary Belk, D, District 88 - Mecklenburg

Senator Jim Burgin, R, District 12 - Harnett, Johnson

Representative Christy Clark, D, District 98 - Mecklenburg

Representative Zack Hawkins, D, District 31 - Durham

Representative Rachel Hunt, D, District 103 - Mecklenburg

Representative Verla Insko, D, District 56 - Orange

Representative Marcia Morey, D, District 30 - Durham

Senator Jim Perry, R, District 7 - Lenoir, Wayne

Representative Joe Sam Queen, D, District 119 - Haywood, Jackson

Senator Vickie Sawyer, R, District 34 - Iredell, Yadkin

Representative Wayne Sasser, R, District 67 - Cabarrus, Stanly

Senator Sam Searcy, D, District 17 - Wake

Representative Raymond Smith, D, District 21 - Sampson, Wayne

Representative Julie von Haefen, D, District 36 - Wake

Senator Joyce Waddell, D, District 40 - Mecklenburg

Representative Ashton Wheeler Clemmons, D, District 57 - Guilford


Session 1: October 7, 2019. 9 am to 4 pm

  • Systems thinking and stakeholder engagement for bipartisan policymaking
  • Health and the economy
  • Evidence-based policy and practice
  • Health outcomes and drivers of health
  • Health care costs

Session 2:  November 4, 2019, 9 am to 4 pm

  • Private market insurance, including employer-based insurance
  • Medicaid (cost, trends, eligibility, current status of Medicaid transformation and options for closing the coverage gap)
  • The opioid epidemic - update and lessons from other states
  • Behavioral health and integrated care

Session 3: December 9, 2019. 9 am to 4 pm

  • Access to care and gaps in care (including rural/urban access)
  • Health care workforce
  • End of life care
  • Safety net health care providers
  • Telehealth and other innovative models of care
  • Scope of practice
  • Medicare

(Note: topics subject to change due to speaker availability)

2018 Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program


List of 2018 Legislative Health Policy Fellows

2018 LHPF Issue Brief: Recruitment and Retention of the Rural Health Workforce


Session 1: What Are the Drivers and Impacts of Health Policy? | January 22, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm

  • Systems thinking
  • Data-informed decision-making
  • Health and the economy
  • Evidence-based policy and practice
  • Determinants of health

Session 2: How Is Health Care Financed? | February 26, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm

  • Health care financing
  • Private market insurance, including employer-based insurance
  • Medicaid (cost, trends, eligibility, federal-state partnership, reform, expansion)
  • NC Health Choice
  • Medicare
  • The opioid epidemic
  • Behavioral health

Session 3: What Makes A Health Care System? | April 23, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm

  • The health care delivery system
  • Drivers of access
  • Gaps in care
  • Health care workforce
  • The safety net
  • Rural health
  • Telehealth
  • End of life care

Special Session: How Data and Evidence Can (and Should!) Inform Scope of Practice, April 9, 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm

North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Shaping Policy for a Healthier North Carolina

Our Work

Current Projects and Task Forces

Learn More


Our Impact

Informing Health Policy

North Carolina Health Data

Health and Well-Being Statistics