Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

The Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program will provide participants with the data and resources needed to make effective decisions about the health of our state. Over three full-day sessions in Fall 2021, participating General Assembly members will learn about the health issues facing North Carolina, the state’s priorities for health care delivery, and challenges and opportunities for improving the health of all North Carolinians, with a focus on evidence-based solutions.

Participants will also have opportunities to network with health policy researchers, state agency staff, and legislative colleagues. This will be the third year of the program. See a list of previous fellows below.

Back to Task Forces

Project Director

Brieanne Lyda-McDonald

Brieanne Lyda-McDonald, MSPH

Project Director

North Carolina Institute of Medicine


About the Program

Given the large portion of the state budget dedicated to health care and health related services, decisions regarding health policy have tremendous impact on North Carolina’s economy and the health of individuals and communities. The program will provide General Assembly members with resources needed to make effective decisions about the health of our state.

Topics will include:

Session and Enrollment Information

Program sessions will include presentations and panels from health policy experts, policymakers, and nationally renowned guest speakers. NCIOM staff will work with participating legislators to prioritize special topics of interest and to ensure a balance of formal presentations and informal discussion and networking time.

Participants will also select at least two topics for future research and publication by the NCIOM as issue briefs. The first issue brief will be presented to participants and other legislators at a reception where Legislative Health Policy Fellows will be recognized and awarded with certificates of completion.

Our goal is to hold in-person sessions at NCIOM, 630 Davis Drive, Suite 100, Morrisville, NC 27560. However, we acknowledge the uncertainty of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and will monitor public health recommendations for in-person meetings and adjust plans accordingly.

The program is open to all legislators who want to learn more about health policy and resources, regardless of the amount of time they have served in the General Assembly.

There is no fee for enrollment in the Legislative Health Policy Fellows program.

Please note: Enrollment is limited to 20 legislators.

2021 Sessions will be held on:

Monday, October 4 – 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Monday, November 1 – 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Monday, December 6 – 9:00 am – 4:00 pm

To enroll, or for more information, please contact:
Brieanne Lyda-McDonald, MSPH
Project Director


Kathy Colville, MSW, MSPH
President and CEO

Program Brochure Available Here

2021 Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

2021 Legislative Health Policy Fellows:

Representative Kristin Baker, R, District 82 – Cabarrus
Senator Sydney Batch, D, District 17 – Wake
Representative Becky Carney, D, District 102 – Mecklenburg
Senator Sarah Crawford, D, District 18 – Wake
Representative Linda Cooper-Suggs, D, District 24 – Wilson
Senator Don Davis, D, District 5 – Greene, Pitt
Representative Susan Fisher, D, District 114 – Buncombe
Senator Amy Galey, R, District 24 – Alamance, Guilford
Representative Pricey Harrison, D, District 57 – Guilford
Representative Ricky Hurtado, D, District 63 – Alamance
Senator Steve Jarvis, R, District 29 – Davidson, Montgomery
Representative Grier Martin, D, District 34 – Wake
Senator Natalie Murdock, D, District 20 – Durham
Representative Mark Pless, R, District 118 – Haywood, Madison, Yancey
Representative David Willis, R, District 68 – Union

2019 Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

2019 Legislative Health Policy Fellows:

Representative Kelly Alexander, D, District 107- Mecklenburg
Senator Deanna Ballard, R, District 45 – Alleghany, Ashe, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes
Representative Lisa Barnes, R, District 7 – Franklin, Nash
Representative Mary Belk, D, District 88 – Mecklenburg
Senator Jim Burgin, R, District 12 – Harnett, Johnson
Representative Christy Clark, D, District 98 – Mecklenburg
Representative Zack Hawkins, D, District 31 – Durham
Representative Rachel Hunt, D, District 103 – Mecklenburg
Representative Verla Insko, D, District 56 – Orange
Representative Marcia Morey, D, District 30 – Durham
Senator Jim Perry, R, District 7 – Lenoir, Wayne
Representative Joe Sam Queen, D, District 119 – Haywood, Jackson
Senator Vickie Sawyer, R, District 34 – Iredell, Yadkin
Representative Wayne Sasser, R, District 67 – Cabarrus, Stanly
Senator Sam Searcy, D, District 17 – Wake
Representative Raymond Smith, D, District 21 – Sampson, Wayne
Representative Julie von Haefen, D, District 36 – Wake
Senator Joyce Waddell, D, District 40 – Mecklenburg
Representative Ashton Wheeler Clemmons, D, District 57 – Guilford

2019 LHPF Issue Brief: Moving to Value-Based Care in North Carolina2019 LHPF Issue Brief: Supporting the Mental Health and Emotional Well-Being of Students in North Carolina Schools

2018 Legislative Health Policy Fellows Program

2018 Legislative Health Policy Fellows:

Representative Cynthia Ball, D, District 49- Wake
Representative MaryAnn Black, D, District 29 – Durham
Senator Angela R. Bryant, D, District 4 – Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren, Wilson
Representative Deb Butler, D, District 18 – Brunswick, New Hanover
Representative Carla D. Cunningham, D, District 106 – Mecklenburg
Representative Josh Dobson, R, District 85 – Avery, McDowell, Mitchell
Senator Chuck Edwards, R, District 48 – Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania
Senator Rick Horner, R, District 11 – Johnston, Nash, Wilson
Representative Pat B. Hurley, R, District 70 – Randolph
Senator Joyce Krawiec, R, District 31 – Forsyth, Yadkin
Senator Paul A. Lowe, Jr., D, District 42 – Forsyth
Representative Graig R. Meyer, D, District 50 – Durham, Orange
Representative Gregory F. Murphy, MD, FACS, R, District 9 – Pitt
Senator Paul Newton, R, District 36 – Cabarrus, Union
Senator Louis Pate, R, District 7 – Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne
Representative Larry W. Potts, R, District 81 – Davidson
Senator Jeff Tarte, R, District 41 – Mecklenburg
Representative Evelyn Terry, D, District 71 – Forsyth
Senator Terry Van Duyn, D, District 49 – Buncombe
Representative Donna McDowell White, R, District 26 – Johnston
Representative Shelly Willingham, D, District 23 – Edgecombe, Martin
Senator Mike Woodard, D, District 22 – Durham, Person, Caswell

2018 LHPF Issue Brief: Recruitment and Retention of the Rural Health Workforce