NC IOM TASK FORCE ON COVERING THE UNINSURED

Co-Chairs:

The Honorable Carmen Hooker Odom

Co-Chair of the Task Force
Secretary
N.C. Department of Health and Human

N.C. Department of Health and Human Services

Mr. Thomas Lambeth

Co-Chair of the Task Force

Members:

Rep. Jeff Barnhart

NC General Assembly

Andrea Bazan-Manson, MSW, MPH

Director

El Pueblo, Inc.

Mark Benton

Acting Director Division of Medical Assistance NC Department of Health and Human Services

George Bond, Jr., MPH

Health Director

Buncombe County Health Department

Millie Brown

Director

Duplin County Department of Social Services

David Bruton, MD

Sonya Bruton, MPA

Executive Director North Carolina Community Health Center Association

Barbara Morales Burke, MHA

Assistant Commissioner NC Department of Insurance

Pearl Burris-Floyd

Gaston County Commissioner

J. Keith Crisco

President

Asheboro Elastics Corp.

Leah Devlin, DDS, MPH

State Health Director

NC Department of Health and Human Services

L. Allen Dobson, MD

Director

Cabarrus Family Medicine Residency Program

Victor J. Dzau, MD

Chancellor

Duke University Medical Center

Rep. Beverly Earle

NC General Assembly

Allen Feezor, MA

Chief Planning Office

University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina

Charles T. Frock

President and CEO

First Health of the Carolinas

Robert Greczyn, Jr.

President and CEO

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Billy Ray Hall

President

NC Rural Economic Development Center

Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr.

NC General Assembly

Ann Holton

Pamlico County Commissioner

Rep. Verla Insko

NC General Assembly

Robert Jackson

State Director of the North Carolina Office AARP North Carolina

Connie Majure-Rhett, CCE

Greater Wilmington Chamber of Commerce

John B. McMillan, JD

Manning, Fulton and Skinner, PA

John Mills

Executive Director

NC Association of Free Clinics

David Moore, CLU

Past President

NC Health Underwriters Assn.

Graham T. Moore, Jr.

Vice-President of Marketing and Area Operations Manager

APAC-Atlantic, Inc. Coastal Carolina Division

Aaron Nelson

Executive Director

Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of

Commerce

Sen. Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr., JD

NC General Assembly

Rep. Edd Nye

NC General Assembly

Margaret "Peg" O'Connell, JD

Director of External Relations Medical Review of North Carolina

Barbara Pullen-Smith

Director

Office of Minority Health and Health

Disparities

William Pully, JD

President

North Carolina Hospital Association

Senator William Purcell, MD

NC General Assembly

Senator Tony Rand, JD

NC General Assembly

Rep. Karen Ray

NC General Assembly

James T. Roberson, Jr., PhD

Dean

Shaw University Divinity School

Pastor of the New Bethel Baptist Church

Jack Rodman

President and CEO

NC Business Group on Health

William Roper, MD, MPH

UNC School of Medicine and UNC Health

Care System

The University of North Carolina at Chapel

Hill

Randy Rust

Adam Searing, JD

Project Director

NC Health Access Coalition

Andrew D. Slavitt

CEO, Consumer Solutions UnitedHealth Group

Stephen T. Smith, JD

Program Associate
N.C. Council of Churches

Russ Stephenson

Stephenson Millwork Company

Senator A.B. Swindell

NC General Assembly

Judith E. Tintinalli, MD, MS

Professor and Chairman Department of Emergency Medicine University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Lynette Rivenbark Tolson

Director of Advocacy American Heart Association

Torlen Wade

Director NC Office of Research, Demonstrations and Rural Health Development

Jack Walker, PhD

Executive Administrator NC Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan

Charles S. Willson, MD

President Elect NC Medical Society Clinical Professor Brody School of Medicine

Leslie Winner, JD

Vice President and General Counsel General Administration University of North Carolina

Rep. Thomas Wright

NC General Assembly

Doug Yarbrough

President & CEO Duplin General Hospital, Inc.

NC IOM TASK FORCE ON COVERING THE UNINSURED STEERING COMMITTEE AND STAFF

James Bernstein

President

NC Foundation for Advanced Health

Programs

Anne Braswell

Health Policy Analyst Office of the Deputy Secretary NC Department of Health and Human Services

Barbara Morales Burke, MHA

Assistant Commissioner NC Department of Insurance

Matt Canedy, MPA

Research Assistant NC Institute of Medicine

Gordon DeFriese, PhD

President and CEO NC Institute of Medicine

Kristen Dubay, MPP

Project Director

NC Institute of Medicine

Thalia Fuller

Administrative Assistant NC Institute of Medicine

Sandra Greene, DrPH

Senior Research Fellow

Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services

Research

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mark Holmes, PhD

Research Fellow

Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services

Research

The University of North Carolina at Chapel

Hill

Jaime Jenkins, MD

Research Assistant

NC Institute of Medicine

Adrienne Parker

Director of Administrative Operations NC Institute of Medicine

Stephanie Poley

Research Associate

Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services

Research

The University of North Carolina at Chapel

Hill

Pam Silberman, JD, DrPH

Vice President

NC Institute of Medicine

Kristie Weisner Thompson

Associate Vice President

NC Institute of Medicine

Torlen Wade

Director

NC Office of Research, Demonstrations and

Rural Health Development

NC Department of Health and Human

Services

Dennis Williams

Senior Health Policy Advisor
Office of the Deputy Secretary
NC Department of Health and Human
Services