SAFETY-NET TASK FORCE

The Honorable Carmen Hooker Odom

Co-Chair of the Task Force

Secretary

N.C. Department of Health and Human

Services

Sherwood Smith, JD

Co-Chair of the Task Force

Chairman Emeritus

Carolina Power & Light

Carolyn C. Allison, CEO

Metrolina Comprehensive Health Center, Inc.

Thomas J. Bacon, DrPH

Executive Associate Dean & Director

NC Area Health Education Centers

Program

UNC-CH School of Medicine

Gillian Baker, MHA

Director

Appalachian Healthcare Project

Andrea Bazan-Manson

Executive Director

El Pueblo, Inc.

James Bernstein, MHA

Asst. Secretary for Health

NC Department of Health and Human

Services

Mr. George Bond, Jr.

Health Director

Buncombe County Health Department

Sonya Bruton

Executive Director

Ben Money (alternate)

North Carolina Primary Health Care

Association

Moses Carey, JD, MPH

Executive Director

Piedmont Health Systems

Mike Cinoman, MD

Executive Director

Wake AHEC

WakeMed

Lawrence M. Cutcheon, MD

President & CEO

Health Care Savings, Inc.

Richard L. Daugherty

Leah Devlin, DDS, MPH

State Health Director

Allen Dobson, MD

Director

Cabarrus Family Medicine Residency

Program

Brian Ellerby, M.S.P.H., C.M.P.E.

Executive Director

Guilford Child Health, Inc.

Guilford Adult Health, Inc.

Margaret P. Elliott

Executive Director

Crisis Control Ministry, Inc.

Bobby England, MD

NC House of Representatives

John Estes

Bob Fitzgerald

Director

Division of Facility Services

NC Department of Health and Human

Services

Olivia Fleming

Clinic Director

The Open Door Clinic

Urban Ministries of Raleigh

Gary Fuquay

Director

Division of Medical Assistance

NC Department of Health and Human

Services

Rick Gilstrap

President

Halifax Regional Medical Center

John Graeter

Executive Director

Hot Springs Health Program

Mr. Bobby Greer

New Hanover County Commissioner

Paul Harrison

Executive Director

Wake County Medical Society

Fletcher Hartsell

NC Senate

Andy Hartsfield

Vice President

Public Policy and Advocacy

Glaxo Smith Kline

Dan Hudgins

Director

Durham DSS

Thomas G. Irons MD

Professor of Pediatrics

Associate Vice Chancellor

Brody School of Medicine

Johanna S. Irving DDS, MPH

Dental Health Director

Wake County Human Services

Howard Lee

Chair

NC State Board of Education

Alan McKenzie

President

American Project Access Network

John O. McNairy

President

Harvey Enterprises and Affiliates

John Mills

Executive Director

NC Association of Free Clinics

Richard H. Parks

Chief Executive Officer

Cape Fear Valley Health System

Burnie Patterson

Rural Health Group

William Pully, JD

President

North Carolina Hospital Association

William R. Purcell, MD

NC Senate

Ms. Wanda Sandelé

Health Director

Craven County Health Department

Adam Searing, JD

Project Director

NC Health Access Coalition

Shirley Sims

Stephen T. Smith

Program Associate

N.C. Council of Churches

John Sullivan

Carolinas Healthcare System

Doug Yarbrough

President & CEO

Duplin General Hospital,Inc.

STEERING COMMITTEE

Sonya Bruton

Executive Director North Carolina Primary Health Care Association

Thomas J. Bacon, DrPH

Executive Associate Dean & Director NC Area Health Education Centers Program UNC-CH, School of Medicine

John Estes

NC Medical Society Foundation

Dennis Harrington

Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services

Alan McKenzie

Project Access Buncombe County Medical Society

John Mills

Executive Director NC Association of Free Clinics.

Andrea Radford

NC Office of Research, Demonstrations and Rural Health Development NC Department of Health and Human Services

Tom C. Ricketts, III, Ph.D.

Deputy Director

Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jeff Spade, CHE

Executive Director NC Rural Health Center NC Hospital Association

Tork Wade

Director NC Office of Research, Demonstrations and Rural Health Development NC Department of Health and Human Services

Mark Holmes, PhD

Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research

NCIOM STAFF

Gordon H. DeFriese, PhD

President and CEO

North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Pam Silberman, JD, DrPH

Vice President

North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Kristie Weisner Thompson, MA

Assistant Vice President

North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Kristen Dubay, MPP

Project Director

North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Adrienne R. Parker

Director of Administrative Operations North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Thalia Fuller

Administrative Assistant

North Carolina Institute of Medicine