

TASK FORCE ON PREVENTION

CO-CHAIRS

Jeffery P. Engel, MD State Health Director Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services William L. Roper, MD, MPH CEO University of North Carolina Health Care System Dean School of Medicine University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Robert W. Seligson, MA, MBA Executive Vice President and CEO North Carolina Medical Society **Leah Devlin, DDS, MPH¹** Former State Health Director Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services

TASK FORCE MEMBERS

Lew Ebert

President

Thomas J. Bacon, DrPH

Executive Associate Dean University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Director NC Area Health Education Centers Program

Jeff L. Barnhart

Representative North Carolina General Assembly

Ronny Bell, PhD, MS

Professor, Division of Public Health Sciences Director, Maya Angelou Research Center for Health Equity Wake Forest University Health Sciences

Moses Carey, MSPH, JD Director Health Disparities Program Department of Health Education North Carolina Central University

NC Chamber of Commerce

Calvin Ellison, PhD Pastor Oasis of Hope Church

Bob England, MD

Representative North Carolina General Assembly

John H. Frank Director

Health Care Division Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust

¹ Dr. Leah Devlin served as one of the co-chairs for the Task Force from the inception of the work until she retired as State Health Director. At that time, Dr. Jeffrey Engel became one of the co-chairs. Dr. Devlin remained as a member of the Task Force.

Paula Hudson Collins Senior Policy Advisor Healthy Responsible Students NC State Board of Education

Robert J. Greczyn President and CEO Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Greg Griggs Executive Director North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians Immediate Past Chair of Eat Smart Move More NC

Kathy Higgins President Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Foundation

Hugh Holliman Representative North Carolina General Assembly

Olson Huff, MD Senior Fellow Action for Children North Carolina

Verla Insko Representative North Carolina General Assembly

Sherman James, PhD Professor Duke University

Mary P. (Polly) Johnson, RN, MSN, FAAN President and CEO North Carolina Foundation for Nursing Excellence

Tara Larson Acting Director NC Division of Medical Assistance

William W. Lawrence Jr., MD, FAAP Wake County Medical Director Duke Primary Care

Peter Lehmuller Dean Culinary Education Johnson & Wales University at Charlotte **Barbara Goodmon** President A.J. Fletcher Foundation

Meg Molloy, DrPH, MPH, RD Executive Director NC Prevention Partners

Mary Margaret (Peg) O'Connell, JD Manager of External Affairs National Forum for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention

Robert Parker Vice President Home and Community Health NC Baptist Hospital

Mary L. Piepenbring Director Health Care Division The Duke Endowment

Austin T. Pittman CEO UnitedHealthcare of North Carolina

Fran Preston President North Carolina Retail Merchants Association

Barbara Pullen-Smith, MPH Executive Director Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities NC Department of Health and Human Services

William A. Pully, JD President North Carolina Hospital Association

William R. Purcell, MD Senator North Carolina General Assembly

Joe Sam Queen Senator North Carolina General Assembly

Kelly Ransdell Assistant Director Office of State Fire Marshal North Carolina Department of Insurance **Michael Lewis, MD, PhD** Executive Assistant to the Chancellor East Carolina University

Lynn Scott Safrit President Castle & Cooke North Carolina, LLC

George L. Saunders III, MD President Old North State Medical Society

Pam Seamans Executive Director North Carolina Alliance for Health

Vandana Shah, LLM Executive Director NC Health and Wellness Trust Fund

Florence M. Simán, MPH Director/a Health Programs/Programas de Salud El Pueblo, Inc. **J. George Reed, JD, MDiv²** Executive Director North Carolina Council of Churches

William Smith, MPH Director Robeson County Health Department

Michael Tarwater, FACHE President and CEO Carolinas HealthCare System

Lisa Ward Senior Vice President Health Care and Life Sciences Capstrat, Inc.

Charles F. Willson, MD Clinical Professor of Pediatrics Brody School of Medicine East Carolina University

Joyce M. Young, MD, MPH Well-Being Director IBM Corporation

² Because the NC Council of Churches is made up of religious bodies with differing positions on sexuality education and on the use of contraceptives, the Council does not speak to these issues. Therefore the Council's Executive Director, who is a Task Force member, abstained from voting on Task Force recommendation 5.3.

STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Danielle Breslin

Vice President Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Foundation

Paul A. Buescher, PhD Director State Center for Health Statistics NC Department of Health and Human Services

J. Steven Cline, DDS, MPH Deputy State Health Director NC Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services

John H. Frank

Foundation

Director Health Care Division Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust

Jennifer MacDougall Program Officer Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Ruth Petersen, MD, MPH Public Health Specialist Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services Mary L. Piepenbring Director Health Care Division The Duke Endowment

Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH

Chief Chronic Disease and Injury Section Division of Public Health NC Department of Health and Human Services

Meka Sales, MS, CHES Program Officer

The Duke Endowment

Vandana Shah, LLM Executive Director NC Health and Wellness Trust Fund

Kristie Thompson, MA Research and Policy Officer NC Health and Wellness Trust Fund

EXPERT CONSULTANTS ON THE STEERING COMMITTEE

Alice Ammerman, DrPH, RD Director UNC Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention **Carol Runyan, PhD** Director UNC Injury Prevention Research Center